Two weeks of book vacation

Yesterday I decided to take a look at what I was reading this time last year. I wanted to compare it to my vacation year just to see if there was any difference.

January 2016 I read five books.

skarmklipp_gr_2016jan

So far this year I have read five books:

skarmklipp_gr_2017jan

Now  my point here is not that oh my godness I read so many books. What I find interesting is that last year it was a struggle and this year it’s a pleasure and that shows in the numbers.  I don’t think the quality of the books are so very different. There are two books considered YA on the list for this year and there is two classics and a very cool short story collection. I like the variation, when I started my bookvaycay one of my concerns was that I would choose to read only easy stuff.

I don’t know if I really have a point here. But I am very happy about my vacation, taking a break from the have to’s is very relaxing and fun.

Last year I struggled my way through Moby Dick. It was a chore. The darling Melville does have his long descriptions of seaweed and what colour the water is. I was very frustrated with the lack of white wale. That beeing said. The book is very good. I’m glad I  read it and I will probably read it again. Also by reading Moby Dick I found Bartelby the Scrivener and that is a lovely, lovely thing.

There is a time to read the Moby Dicks of the world and that is time well spent and there is a time to relax and enjoy having read the Moby Dicks and that is also time well spent. Pretty much time with books is time well spent 🙂

Now I will go and continue with my next read.

Leave a Reply

